BOOK REVIEW: THE HAPPINESS OF PURSUIT by Chris Guillebeau

What first caught my attention was the title of this book, “The Happiness of Pursuit”. Can a journey be a reward in itself? Chris Guillebeau, an author who visited every country in the world by the age of 35 (wow!) certainly makes a case for it. The book is a collection of stories of people who undertook a personal quest of some sort and have completed or are in the process of completing it.

9780385348867

Initially I thought that it will be an amusing collection of success stories, but this book also provides tools to recognize the signs of a change that must happen for a quest to start (sometimes it’s just a slump in the work environment, sometimes it’s a terminal illness, sometimes just a general discontent). Second part of the book deals with the journey itself, the way, the cost, the meaning for a specific person. I think I liked this section the best because it showed the wide range of quests, you don’t have to set to visit every country in the world, for example, you can cook a meal from each too. The third part deals with destination or what each person gains from their quest.

I enjoyed this book quite a bit. I have this yearning for quests and regularly make one up. It isn’t far from home 99.9% at a time, but I appreciate the satisfaction it gives me and lessons I gain from each and every one of them. Quests can be big or small, aimed at the wide audience or deeply personal, the important this is to try. Highly recommend.

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.

 

 

 

 

Drop me a line

