Goodbye May, Hello June

May is over, June is here. Summer, at last. We are slowing down, trying to sort our thoughts, calm our minds and let our bodies truly rest.

We still had some activities going and there are some ahead of us yet, but it’s nice to know that we can take a step back if it gets unbearable. I was re-evaluating our school year and decided to scale back on activities. Kids loved what they did, I loved watching them try hard and excel, but on the other hand, their schedule took over our life and affected my health. Clocking in 200 miles per week in activities driving alone was difficult for me and I was sick a lot. I also want to have more slow afternoons, more unstructured play time for kids and especially more chances to get out and be in nature. So next year I will lighten up our schedule and combine kids’ activities where I can. I must admit, I do feel guilty about cutting things, but I believe ultimately it will all be for the best.

This past week brought great joy for us– we finally went for a hike (we haven’t been on a proper one since October). Just breathing in all the fresh air, getting our faces washed by gentle spring rain, oh it was a blessing indeed.

DSC_0023-COLLAGE

Meyer Ranch Park in Conifer, CO

Another lovely outing was in nearby Audubon Center, we enjoyed a wonderful display of Redwing Blackbirds, swallows were going crazy and flying around us on the eye level, the birdsong was incredible.

DSC_0051-COLLAGE

Kids are reading with gusto, now that they have all this time. C. re-read “The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane” by Kate DiCamillo (maaan, I read the ending when she was done and cried, again). D. is completely immersed in The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. He is done with first three books and halfway through the final, fourth one.

I am re-reading “The Enchanted April” by Elizabeth Von Arnim, probably because it is full of something I’ve been craving desperately- rest and flowers.

 

Mama makes:

I have made a new keychain out of polymer clay and finally painted an initial letter for my studio upstairs. Very happy with both projects.

DSC_0073-COLLAGE

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Goodbye May, Hello June

  1. I think slowing down and lightening your schedule is a wonderful idea for both you and your kids. There is this horrible trend in this country that you have to be busy all the time. I know families that are never home. They spend more time in their car going places then anyplace else. I never was this kind of parent. The kids always have as much down time as they do busy time. Our youngest is our only daughter and she wants to be busy much more than the boys did so that’s changed a bit with her but I stress the importance of taking time to be alone with yourself and enjoying your own company. A lot of people just can’t do that. I’ve never been one of them. : ) Love your creations and your outdoor photos!! Thank you so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment!! xx

    ~ Wendy
    http://Crickleberrycottage.blogspot.com/

Drop me a line

