BOOK REVIEW: Wonderland by Amily Shen

As long as I remember, I found myself drawn to anything that is related to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Movies, clothing items, you name it. Amily Shen’s new coloring book Wonderland is all about that crazy, whimsical world created by Lewis Carrol. Amily Shen is a Taiwanese artist, a custom shoe designer in the past and now illustrator and author of drawing books. Wonderland is her first coloring book and what a delight it is!

9780399578465

The coloring book is set up as a picture/chapter book, with themes separated and a little bit of accompanying text added to hold the story together. I find that I enjoy this kind of coloring book organization very much.  I enjoy the balance of large area drawings to quickly fill in with color and more intricate ones with tons of details to focus on. If I had to pick, The Teahouse in the Mushroom Forest and A Mad Tea Party would be my favorite chapters and those I am looking forward to coloring the most.

 

Overall Impression: A delightful coloring book with hours and hours of enjoyment stored on its pages. Lots of tiny details to look at and color. Cute characters. 5 stars

 

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.

Drop me a line

