BOOK REVIEW: Cats in Paris by Won-Sun Jang

I  will never get tired of repeating how happy I am that coloring books are a trend now, the variety is amazing and everyone can find something to suit their needs. I am very excited to get yet another beautiful book to color- “Cats in Paris” by Won-Sun Jang. It’s cats! It’s Paris! Everything is awesome about this concept

9780399578274

Won-Sun Jang is a Korean artist who worked in fashion industry and did children books illustration. I am absolutely in love with her style. It’s very free, the book obviously has a theme (cats!) but it doesn’t seem to be restricting when it comes to coloring within the lines. The drawings themselves done in pen and ink look like casual sketches. There are also plenty of drawings with tiny details. There are opportunities to use different media. For larger spaces I am using light watercolor wash and it works very well with ink outer lines that vary in thickness.

Overall impression: I love this coloring book. The paper is sturdy enough to use watercolor. Presence of cats has calming effect on me and I enjoy dreaming of Paris as I color in this book. Plenty of patterns to practice coloring with pens and pencils, floral motifs, streets and buildings- there is surely something for everyone.

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.

 

Drop me a line

