BOOK REVIEW: The Watercolor Course You’ve Always Wanted by Leslie Frontz

My own artistic journey is only beginning and many things seem difficult or confusing. There isn’t always time or funds available for formal painting lessons. That’s when one truly appreciates the book like “The Watercolor Course You’ve Always Wanted”. The author, Leslie Frontz, is an artist with forty years of experience and numerous teaching credentials.

9780770435295

Let’s take a closer look at the book. As most of the books of the kind it starts with the description of materials needed to have a successful journey towards mastering watercolors. I was pleasantly surprised my the relatively small list  of necessities. The techniques of preparing a surface for painting are clearly explained. From then on each chapter carefully but straightforwardly lays out various elements of creating a watercolor painting — working with shapes, value, how the  colors work together, how to create a desired texture and how to express the mood and atmosphere on the paper. Each chapter has step-by-step demonstrations. I especially liked that paintings on demonstrations are created from the photographs, as it is how I am painting now. Numerous artworks are included to illustrate each point brought up in the book.

Overall impression: This book proved to be a valuable source for me. It clears up many questions that I had. I appreciate the fact that while each chapter is comprehensive, the material is presented in a way that doesn’t overwhelm the beginner like me. Five stars.

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for a fair an unbiased review.

Drop me a line

