Week’s Roundup : Goodbye August

Summer moved on…

Picture of the week:

Oh these late summer golden hours, with lacy shadows on my walls and book pages...

Oh these late summer golden hours, with lacy shadows on my walls and book pages…

What were we up to?

  • School at home and at the co-op has started again. The week overall went well. There were some rough moments– D. forgetting some of his math over the summer, C. making mirror letters again. But spelling got a little bit better and you can tell kids read a lot over the summer.
  • We had a lovely Learning about Haiku week, and will probably continue writing and reading poetry in September
  • Some of extracurricular activities started again, some are due to start in September. We are trying to embrace our once again busy schedule, although I did say a firm “no” to some classes children requested. The goal of this school year to have more time. I am tired of putting interesting, but time-consuming activities off until a break, and children could really use more free play. And play they did! Just look at C. sneaking my phone away and making a little movie  😀
and oh! the monopoly obsession. 3 hour- long games, C. giggling and hogging all the cash, D. winning in the end...priceless

and oh! the monopoly obsession. 3 hour- long games, C. giggling and hogging all the cash, D. winning in the end…priceless

Mama makes:

As I’ve written before, during the summer I started to paint and draw, I am currently on day 73 of 100 day drawing challenge and I can see improvement already. The most proud moment of the week so far is an art lantern. I saw this awesome idea at Fun Craft Kids and couldn’t wait to try it out:

first I drew a city

first I drew a city

and then attached paper to a jar using mod podge. The only downside is that my jar wasn't smooth, so the paper got a bit warped, next time I will use a container without any curves or bumps

and then attached paper to a jar using mod podge. The only downside is that my jar wasn’t smooth, so the paper got a bit warped, next time I will use a container without any curves or bumps

But besides that I picked up felting needle again and I am testing out new fall brooches. Two are currently on the way to their owners and I am eagerly and nervously awaiting feedback.

autumn felted brooch

What are we reading?

D. reads Wonder by R.J. Palacio for his Literature class in the co-op and Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling  at home

wonder

jungle book

C. re-read her favorite Mercy Watson series by Kate DiCamillo

Mama read from her comfort book pile

In Russian:

Д. читает повести о животных Сетона-Томпсона, К. читает “Серая Шейка” и другие рассказы о животных.

Our second week should be rather busy, but I am firm in my intention to go with the flow more, and not to let us even approach the state of a burn out.

2 thoughts on “Week’s Roundup : Goodbye August

  1. What a beautiful week! And my goodness you are so talented! I love the city that you drew! And I agree, that free time for play is so important. It’s in those moments I find myself the most creative. Happier even. How more so must it be for children. We are currently listening to Peter Pan on CD and I am falling in love with children literature all over again. Perhaps we might have to see if we can find the jungle book next! Aloha! =)

    • Thank you so much,Karisma! Peter Pan on CD sounds lovely! It used to be one of my most beloved stories when I was a little girl. Kids read it, but it’s been a while, gotta hunt for an audiobook now.

Drop me a line

