Week’s Roundup: June 15-June 21, 2015

Another week flew by and it’s Summer Solstice time already. The summer is officially here, yay!

Photo of the week:

Kids were all about playing with water this week, no wonder, we had a couple of extremely hot days

Kids were all about playing with water this week, no wonder, we had a couple of extremely hot days

What were we up to this week:

  • We had a great time learning about birds this week: an awesome mini-lesson and a walk. D. takes his telescope (meants for stars, but why not) outside a lot and have since spotted a lot of mourning doves around the neighborhood.
  • Kids and I did a lot of art– my main wish for this summer. D. especially. They tried new techniques of blowing on paint and putting chalk pastels over watercolors. C. refused to have her work photographed, but here are D’s masterpieces:
I simply adore little green spiders, too cute

I simply adore little green spiders, too cute

  • We are reading Layla Queen of Hearts by Glenda Millard (book two of Kingdom of Silk series, I wrote about book 1 last week) and kids love it. They asked me to read slower, because they’re afraid to run out of books too soon. Anyway, there is a lovely thing mentioned there, a tradition of having an Occasion Breakfast. A family member is usually responsible for the table settin and is trying to make it very special. Kids absolutely adored the idea. So we had an Occasion Breakfast of waffles and hot chocolate to celebrate C. turning 6,5:
Kids were a bit shy and put up just table cloth on the table and fancy dresses on themselves

Kids were a bit shy and put up just table cloth on the table and fancy dresses on themselves

and then on Father’s Day which also happened to be a Solstice Day they went all out for the actual table setting:

Dandelions and yellow leaves for the yellow sunlight, all arranged in doll teapots, it was adorable

Dandelions and yellow leaves for the yellow sunlight, all arranged in doll teapots, it was adorable

  • My embroidery progresses nicely:

needle felt and embroidery

What are we reading:

  • D. has finished “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”, I am actually surprised how fast he read it. And delighted there are two of us Harry Potter fans in the house now. I just love discussing things with him, and how excited he is that there are companion books left still. Eyeing that Hogwarts Library Series, and he already read Tales of Beedle the Bard,  and definitely a cookbook.
  • C.’s favorite book this week was  Sneakers, the Seaside Cat by Margaret Wise Brown

sneakers the seaside cat

  • In Russian there were a lot of re-reads this week
  • Mama reads: I finished “The Little Paris Bookshop” by Nina George, review here

Our days go by happily, some busy, some blissfully slow, the weather cooled down after two days of blistering heat and it’s so lovely too. As if to help me put my feelings to words, a French magnetic poetry kit came to the surface from the bottom of flashcards drawer. I forgot I bought it and now I can put little notes on my fridge 🙂

I embrace the moments, the mornings, smiles and memories, simple pleasures with my family. My children laugh at the sun, I love smell of rain. Always listen to the melodies of the summer.

I embrace the moments, the mornings, smiles and memories, simple pleasures with my family.
My children laugh at the sun, I love smell of rain.
Always listen to the melodies of the summer.

Drop me a line

