Week’s Roundup: Two weeks edition: March 13- March 22,2015

Wow, I realized I skipped a roundup last week, we were so busy and life got so chaotic. I must make an effort and do better.

Picture of the week:

Spring is here and ground is slowly being covered in flowers

Spring is here and ground is slowly being covered in flowers

What we did:

  • School at home was mostly ok. Children have received their MAPS test scores and they did very well. The unfortunate problem with the test results though, is that they are very unspecific. I just know how kids did overall, but I have no idea if they have problems and there seems to be no way to find out. D. doesn’t have to take another test until end of next school year, so I might do ITBS just to see and compare. I know overall their strengths and weaknesses, but I’m curious if testing is easier or harder in comparison with what we do at home.
  • D. did a little project for his Colorado History Class in Home option, he made a wagon.

CO history wagon

  • Children participated in our Home Option Annual Talent Show, both played a piano piece each and then Twinkle Twinkle Little Star together. It was a debut stage for little C. and she did very well.
  • We had a spring hike and enjoyed warm weather.
the leaves are not there  yet, but it's getting close

the leaves are not there yet, but it’s getting close

Mama makes:

I was all about polymer clay these past two weeks. I have tried my hand in making little magnets for the fridge

I like two white ones the best, yet purple ones already found their new home too

I like two white ones the best, yet purple ones already found their new homes too

I also made new key chain

polymer clay key charm

But I am absolutely obsessed with making little candle holders. I still have a long way to go in terms of technique of course, but the collection is growing (previously strawberry house for my mom and first attempt). The new one:

absolutely adore orange tree :D

absolutely adore the orange tree 😀

it has such a warm glow

it has such a warm glow

Our reads:

This post contains links to IndieBound which I’m affiliated with. Should you choose to make a purchase following a link, I may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you,
indiebound

    • For the picture of the book of the week  C. chose

  
And Then It’s Spring by Julie Fogliano, Erin E. Stead

and  she started reading her first chapter book all by herself


Mr. Popper’s Penguins by Richard Atwater, Florence Atwater

It is so much fun to hear her giggle as she reads, and she often runs from another room to read aloud a funny passage.

  • D. who like me was sad about Sir Terry’s passing has read


Dragons at Crumbling Castle: And Other Tales by Terry Pratchett
, he enjoyed it very much.

He also read another installment out of 39 Clues series and he is reading


A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
 for his Literature class at co-op.

  • Mama reads: I re-read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows and was surprised that it was just ok, I loved it back in 2011 but this time around I was rather underwhelmed. Oh well. In order to catch up on my classics I started Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell, I loved BBC series and hopefully I will love the book as well.
  • Reading in Russian: Дети много перечитывали на этих неделях.К. очень полюбила сказки Л.Н.Толстого и Волшебные сказки разных стран. Д. перечитывал “Клад под старым дубом” Софьи Прокофьевой. Из новенького мы вместе прочли книги об Иоганне Себастьяне Бахе: “Ручей из Тюрингии” Аркадия Мара и “Иоганн Себастьян Бах” Александра Ткаченко из серии Настя и Никита.

So these were our past two weeks. My Japanese studies were sadly lacking lately and my main personal goal will be to catch up. I missed too many yoga classes, so something to work on here as well. We have lots of things  coming up- field trips, exam for D., rehearsals before big spring performances with choir and ballet…and school on top of that. I am still debating about having a full scale spring break, since we relaxed most of the December, but on the other hand kids did so well on tests, I don’t want to be giving them busy work just to fill in number of school days. Hopefully we can have school days that are fun yet meaningful.

Hope this week is great for everybody!

Drop me a line

