Week’s Roundup: Goodbye February 2015

This post may contain links to IndieBound, which I’m affiliated with. Should you choose to make a purchase, I may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.
indiebound
February is over and thank goodness it is. It was a good month, but it seemed long and heavy. Russians congratulated each other on the beginning of spring today. And even though here, in the US it doesn’t come for a couple of weeks at least, I think it is here already, lurking in the woods and soon will drive winter out completely.

Photo of the week:

nothing better than spending Sunday afternoon with my baby girl by my side, all nice and cozy

nothing better than spending Sunday afternoon with my baby girl by my side, all nice and cozy

What did we do:

  • This week was easier in terms of being busy, because some of our activities were cancelled. We got cozy by the fire since it was so cold outside. Funny thing is it’s our first occasion to light a fireplace this year, it was so warm all of January 😀 We enjoyed another snowstorm (not really, the roads were awful Friday) and it left some souvenirs on our windows
  • iciclesWe had a fairly successful week at home, for English D. wrote poetry and did a how-to presentation, C. had another break-through with her handwriting and now won’t put her pen down. We read a lot too. For math D. continues to tackle converting fractions to decimals and vice versa, C. learned about equal vs. non-equal and did more addition. For Russian D. works on synonyms, he also  wrote a couple of book reports, C. suddenly grasped her Russian spelling and her letters started to look recognizable. It’s amazing how things just “click” in her head and something that gave her trouble merely a day before becomes easy.
  • We started a new tradition, and hopefully it will stick. Every morning before starting school and every evening before bed the three of us sit down and write down whatever comes to mind, hopes, dreams, lists,plans, nonsense. I got this idea from my artists friends, they do their “morning pages” to open way  for creativity. I thought it would be a nice thing for kids to get tuned in the morning and wind down at night. Since both are ardent writers, they loved the idea.
little C. writes her first page in her new journal. She chose to write in Russian this time.

little C. writes her first page in her new journal. She chose to write in Russian this time.

D.'s masterpiece

D.’s masterpiece

C.'s masterpiece

C.’s masterpiece

  • For science we did a tiny Moon Study today. We read The Moon Book by Gail Gibbons and talked about Moon phases and eclipses. We looked at some Moon images on NASA site. I found a very cute idea for moon playscape on one of Russian livejournal communities. The author also included photography by Laurent Laveder , his moon games were kids’ favorite. The idea for the play goes like this: an image of moon is printed and pasted onto a piece of carboard, children then proceed to play on moon surface or however they want . Mine threw their moons around like frisbees, D. then tried to imitate Laveder’s pictures

moon games

moon games

After that kids decided to build their own “space museums” out of Lego and here’s what they came up with.

D.s room includes large moon display, a case with space rock and a telescope booth

D.s room includes large moon display, a case with space rock and a telescope booth

C.s creation includes a spacious hall with fireworks  in one drawer and "golden changing stones" in another

C.s creation includes a spacious hall with fireworks in one drawer and “golden changing stones” in another

Mama makes:

I was all about polymer clay houses this week , check them out here 

In the kitchen:

We realized that in all February madness we completely forgot about D’s half birthday, so we made some half-birthday muffins yesterday. Nobody likes cupcakes in this house, thus the muffins 😉

The recipe is very simple and versatile, you can put pretty much anything inside.

Mix dry ingredients:

1 1/2 c of all purpose flour

1/2 c of sugar

pinch of salt

1Tbsp of baking powder

Mix wet ingredients:

1 c of milk

1 lg egg

1/4 c of melted butter

I also added cocoa and vanilla to the mix.

Stir dry ingredients into wet ones pour into your muffin tin with your choice of filling (in our case we had plain, with frozen cherries and with frozen strawberries, cherry ones were the best). Bake for 30-35 minutes at 375 F/ 190 C

Happy  9,5, D!

Happy 9,5, D!

What do we read:

    • D. reads :


Greenglass House by Kate Milford
, he enjoys this book tremendously. I haven’t looked through it yet, but the cover is so pretty 😀

    • C. chose


Hedgie’s Surprise by Jan Brett
 as the book of the week. She loves Jan Brett’s books. I always print her some coloring pages from Jan Brett site to go with the book.

IN RUSSIAN:

Д. прочел А.П. Чехов “Каштанка” и Карел Чапек ” Сказки и веселые истории”, обе книги из серии “Классная классика”. У нас несколько книг из этой серии и детям очень нравится.

Chekhov Kashtanka

Chapek

К. читала “Большая книга сказок” Джанни Родари.

gianni rodari

Mama reads: This week I readThe Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh, from the spring reads pile I purchased last week. I confess I expected something less dramatic and more lighthearted, but the book was very good and held my attention until the end. I am craving flowers and trees in bloom so much.

the language of flowers

 Things I’ve done for me:

It’s actually a very difficult thing I’ve done, but I also think it’s the biggest favor I could have possibly done for me and my family. I stood up for myself, something I should have done 25 years ago, but couldn’t because I was small and frightened. I am still fairly small, but frightened no more. I finally realized I don’t have to hold back out of mysterious respect, that I don’t need to keep my head down to preserve a relationship that poisons me and mine. It was a liberating feeling. I only wish it had come to me earlier and I didn’t endure painful confrontations all these years. I don’t know what will be the outcome of my decision, right now even it’s difficult and strange, but this time I’m prepared to stand my ground. This was the article that greatly helped me.  And I’m eternally grateful for the support I found in my friends and their stories , for my sister who gets it,  and most of all for my best friend and amazing strengh source- my husband. It’s a long way ahead. Wish me luck.

February most popular posts:

Hoping March will be kind to all and hopefully Spring will be here soon.

One thought on “Week’s Roundup: Goodbye February 2015

Drop me a line

