Week’s Roundup: February 2-February8, 2015

This post may contain links to the sites I’m affiliated with, should you choose to make a purchase following a link, I may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Another busy week flew by in a blink of an eye. It’s been so warm here, it doesn’t feel like winter at all!

Photo of the week:

I will never get tired of cotton candy sunsets here in Colorado

I will never get tired of cotton candy sunsets here in Colorado

What we did:

  • First of all a little update on the bullying situation last week: I have met with the co-op administration and overall I am satisfied with the outcome. D. was left well alone by the child and hopefully this will be the end of it
  • We had a very good week doing school at home, kids were cooperative and enthusiastic, the biggest bulk of our work was completed well before lunch. Such lovely days doing school at home make up for all the whining and haggling that happens every now and again. We had time to relax in the afternoons and spend some more quality time together as a family.
such as playing a mystery garden and getting tricked by our 6 y.o. :D

such as playing a mystery garden and while at it getting tricked by our 6 y.o. 😀

  • Activities outside of home went well too, kids completed a swim class with a noticeable progress, D. is preparing for a karate tournament next week.
  • We went hiking with our friends at our beloved Roxborough State Park today, and walked over 4 miles. The weather was absolutely gorgeous. I got to hold my friend’s new sweet baby, oh the feeling, so lovely and nostalgic!
our playground

our playground 🙂

What we made this week:

chasing degas

for the artwork instructions we used DK My Art Book , it had step by step pictures on how to create Degas-like drawing of a ballerina using chalk pastels. The biggest challenge was to capture the silhouette, the smudging was easy and fun 🙂

degas art projectThe final results :

D.'s ballerina

D.’s ballerina

C.'s masterpiece :)

C.’s masterpiece 🙂

Mama made:

I finally finished Valentines mobile. It’s the first time I tried to needle felt hearts and I found that it is easier to work with pre-made felt, rather than do it from scratch. I loved making tiny hearts though.

the mushroom heart is my favorite :D

the mushroom heart is my favorite 😀

I also loved mini clay houses that Donni at Magic Onions showed last week, I had some left over air dry clay, so I tried making these. I think Sculpey will indeed yield smoother results, I’m looking forward to try it. But so far my first try isn’t so bad.

air dry clay houses

Reads we loved this week:

little britches

the scrambled states of america

miss twiggley's tree

  • In Russian: Д. читает “Сказки Сельвы” Орасио Кирога, каждый день выбирает сказку чтоб прочесть нам вслух.  К. читала “Маленький Великанчик” Геннадия Цыферова
  • Mama reads: I have finished Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I liked this book overall, even if some scenes were very difficult to read, because of the nature of the events. This book was interesting from the historical point of view. It was intense enough to keep me reading well past my bedtime. The romance was good  most of the time (some moments I felt were added for the sake of keeping reader’s attention, but I might be wrong here). There were many profound moments, lots of contrasts. I appreciate the research that went into creating this book, I can totally see why some people hated it, and why it is so loved also. I will take a break from the series for now, but I’m planning to continue reading it for sure. I also enjoyed the TV drama based on the book, can’t wait to see the rest of the episodes which comes out sometimes in April, I’m told.
  • The new book I started to read is another venture into Discworld- The Light Fantastic by Terry Pratchett. And as always it’s a pure delight. There was a new cookbook in my mailbox this week, see review here.

In the kitchen:

Ricotta Pancakes that I made for the first time were absolutely delicious!

Things I did just for me:

I caught up with many TV shows I wanted to watch forever. I finished the first season of Downton Abbey and loved it, I watched the Outlander series and it was very good also.

I went to yoga again and it feels great to see that many things that had me sweating and wincing last week became easier to do.

Here’s to a smooth second week of February!

One thought on “Week’s Roundup: February 2-February8, 2015

  1. Pingback: Week’s Roundup: February 16-February 22, 2015 | Sunflowerous Days

Drop me a line

