BOOK REVIEW: In Her Kitchen Stories and Recipes from Grandmas Around the World

The book I’m reviewing today is In Her Kitchen:Stories and Recipes from Grandmas Around the World by Gabriele Galimberti

In her kitchen

This book is created by Gabriele Galimberti, an Italian photographer.  Galimberti was travelling around the world on an assignment from an Italian magazine. Before leaving he promised his beloved grandma to take pictures of other grandmothers and their signature dishes.

This is the book I was especially excited about since my own grandmothers are not in this world anymore. I miss  them very much indeed. My grandma Valya’s dishes were simple, but no matter how hard I try I can’t replicate the taste.

The book consists of photographs of grandmas in their kitchens and the dishes they prepare. Pictures are followed by a short story about each woman and a recipe for the dish. It was fascinating to see grandmas from all over the world – Galimberti visited 50 countries total! Each and every picture is simple and unaffected,  you can see gramdmas’ personalities in each and every one of them. I loved to look at their faces, at their clothes and especially their kitchens. Loved little stories about each one.

Recipes are mostly comfort food– lots of stuffed dough, fried food, stews. Food that to me means being spoiled, loved, taken care of, something a grandma does. Some dishes were familiar in one way or another (two grandmas featured are from my husband’s country, he was delighted to find food he ate as a child), some were very new and some were downright unimaginable (caterpillars, anyone). I loved the way each grandma has all her ingredients laid out. There is such a variety of food from all over the world that I don’t know where to start if I want to prepare something. But I will definitely try.

Overall impression: Five stars. For photography, for recipes, for love that flows from the pages.

This book was received from Blogging for Books in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.

One thought on “BOOK REVIEW: In Her Kitchen Stories and Recipes from Grandmas Around the World

  1. Pingback: Week’s Roundup: Jan.19-25, 2015 | Sunflowerous Days

Drop me a line

