Week’s Roundup: Dec. 29, 2014- January 4, 2015

This post may contain links to the sites I’m affiliated with, should you choose to make a purchase following a link, I may get a small commission at no extra cost to you.

Wow, what a busy, yet peaceful week we had!

Picture of the week

Yesterday we had such a magical snowfall! It was especially delightful, because we don’t have plans to be anywhere until tomorrow evening, so I don’t have to worry about icy roads and digging out my car :p

snowfall

What we did:

  • We said goodbye to the 2014 and welcomed the New Year in, and with it new hopes of bettering ourselves.
  • We had a very nice Tolkien Day yesterday
  • Children asked to do school! It’s a surprise for me, I thought they got so used to the freedom of holidays, but they say it’s time. Better start planning! The local school (and our Home Option program) start next week.
  • Children were mostly sweet to each other this week, very grateful for that.
  • We took D. to see the last Hobbit movie. D. and Husband loved it. I was surprised how at peace I was with the movie this time around (I was so disappointed with the second installment) . Just like with Harry Potter I’ve decided to clearly separate books from movies, so I was able to enjoy the film.

Crafts:

  • I did some needle felting and it is such a wonderful feeling when colorful but shapeless wool takes form under my fingers and becomes a source of smile for someone.
  • I also got out my needle and thread and tried my hand at embroidery again. I have been cross-stitching for years, but now  I’m trying different stitches, and I’m starting to suspect that I might like them more. The results (if I take up a small project) appear much faster and it doesn’t murder my eyes.

Reads we loved this week:

In the  kitchen:

We made a lovely cake yesterday and some Russian food for the New Year’s Day.

Things I did just for me:

I signed up for a lifetime membership for a foreign language learning program that I’m currently using. It was a splurge, but I feel so much better now, knowing I can take my time learning and not hurry through levels because of monthly payments (and I will save at least a couple of hundreds in the long run).

It was a nice holiday we had, we slept, we ate, we played and read to our hearts’ content. And now it’s time to go and start planning the school week, reminding myself to take it easy and keeping my resolution to have a peaceful household.

One thought on “Week’s Roundup: Dec. 29, 2014- January 4, 2015

  1. Pingback: Week’s Roundup: January 5-January 11, 2015 | Sunflowerous Days

Drop me a line

