Banana Bread

This post may contain links to sites I’m affiliated with, should you decide to make a purchase following a link I may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you

We had a sudden drop in temperature two days before weekend (it has since picked up) and we craved something delicious and warm. I had some overripe bananas, so naturally Banana Bread it is!

The idea for this delicious Banana Bread originally came from Orangette’s Glenn’s Banana Bread with Candied Ginger recipe, it is wonderfully simple to make. This time around I didn’t have candied ginger, so I added walnuts and tweaked the recipe a bit (I just realized that the recipe she has on her blog is different from the one she has in her book (A Homemade Lifeindiebound) , so I’m doing the one from the book)

DSC_0300

Ingredients:

6 TBSP (or just a bit more than 1/3 of a cup) of butter (85 grams)

2 large or 3 medium eggs

1 1/2 c mashed banana

1/4 c plain whole milk yogurt (I used Greek  yogurt)

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups (250 g) all purpose flour

2/3 c of sugar (could have used less)

1 tsp of baking powder

pinch of salt

chopped walnuts to taste

chocolate chips to taste

Directions:

-Preheat oven to 350 F (176 C), grease a loaf pan (I use 9” and have some batter left over for a tiny one from kids’ baking set :))

-Melt butter and let it cool slightly

-Whisk together flour,sugar,baking powder,salt, chips and walnuts

-In a medium sized bowl beat eggs lightly, add banana,yogurt, butter and vanilla, mix well

-Gently add dry ingredients to wet ones. Pour mixture into the pan

-Bake 50 minutes to 1 hour until toothpick comes out clean. Now, in my oven the bread turns golden brown after about 30 minutes, so I just cover it with aluminium foil.

-Let cool and serve

It is absolutely delicious with candied ginger as well.

One thought on “Banana Bread

  1. Pingback: September week 2 | Sunflowerous Days

Drop me a line

