Black Forest Cake

My husband, A., turned 33 two days ago, yay! This year I decided I better make him a home made cake, but what would it be…It had to be simple enough not to screw it up (since I had to wait until the birthday to make it), and preferably have ingredients that I actually had at home. I dug up old magazines I brought from Motherland and there was this deliciously looking Black Forest Cake. A. loves Black Forest Cake, this one was Cake Roll too. That sealed the deal. Now, I don’t know how authentic this recipe is, but it was delicious even if not too attractive. This recipe is for Cake Roll, it can be made into a regular cake of course.

Recipe:

Biscuit:

5 eggs

5 tbsp of water (it didn’t specify and cooled water from the kettle was fine in my case)

3/4 c (125 g) of sugar

1 tsp of vanilla extract

1/2 c (100 g) of all purpose flour (plus about 2 more tbsp in my case because of the altitude)

2 tbsp (or to taste) of ground chocolate (I used Ghirardelli double chocolate mix)

For the filling:

Cherries (canned or frozen), I used frozen

1-2 tbsp of sugar

1 tbsp of starch

1 c of heavy cream

Chocolate shavings for decoration

How to make it:

1. Pre-heat the oven to 355 F (180 C). Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Separate egg yolks from whites. Whip egg whites and set aside. Mix egg yolks with  5 tbsp of water, sugar and vanilla extract.

2. Sift flour together with cocoa, add gradually to the egg yolk mix. Carefully fold in egg whites. Spread the mixture on the lined baking sheet. Bake 12-15 minutes (took full 15 in my case). Carefully turn the cake onto a towel dusted with sugar. Peel the parchment off. Use towel to roll the biscuit. Cool completely.

3. Put frozen cherries into a small glass bowl, add about 1/2 c of water, put into microwave for 3 min or so or cook on stove top until it boils. Put cherries into cauldron or sifter to separate from water. Add 1 tbsp of sugar if desired and 1-2 tbsp of starch (I used tapioca starch), carefully mix together. Set aside.

4. Whip cream. Pretty clear instructions can be found here. Unroll cake roll carefully (mine slightly cracked , oops, I was still able to put filling in and camouflage it well with whipped cream). Spread cherries along one side, whipping cream along the other. Roll the cake back. Put the remaining cream into a pastry bag or a sandwich bag with a corner cut off (of which I had neither so I just spooned whipped cream all over the cake) and cover the cake with cream. Decorate with cherries and chocolate shavings. Put in a fridge before serving.

Image

I’m not good at cake decorating, kids underfoot, time runs out etc etc.. yet family loved it and ate it all up, husband was touched.  So I guess it was a success. I will definitely make it again, who knows it might be prettier that the first one.

One thought on “Black Forest Cake

  1. Pingback: Messy Black forest fruits fresh cream cake | Keli Paan

Drop me a line

